Ten New Members Inducted into the National Honor Society for Dance Arts (NHSDA)

In 2017-2018 West Genesee High School established the WGHS Chapter of the National Honor Society for Dance Arts (NHSDA). This year an induction ceremony into the NHSDA was held on January 13, 2022 to welcome the ten new members.

Induction into the National Honor Society for Dance Arts (NHSDA) Secondary Program is earned through the accumulation of at least 30 points awarded for dance activities such as dance classes, rehearsals, performances, research, workshops, or community service activities, alongside a GPA of at least 80. Their dance grade must be 93 or above. In addition, the prospective student’s demonstration of collaborative teamwork, motivation, and leadership in the many aspects of dance (e.g., choreography, performance, mentoring, production) are factors in the determination of eligibility for induction. These student dancers also organize a fundraiser for Comfort Cases which are donated to the county family services program. The goals of this program are to promote life-long learning in the field of dance and to encourage an understanding of and an appreciation for dance as an art form. This is one of the highest honor programs for dance in the United States.

Congratulations to the students from West Genesee High School who were eligible for membership and were inducted this winter: Kendyll Brown, Delaney Capucilli, Emily Conklin, Emma Evanchak, Kelsey Frary, Grace Lamanna, Sophia LeFevre, Zaida Lindsay, Natalie Lychowid, and Camdyn McNeill.

Officers for 2021-2022 are: President, Abby Pattermann; Vice President, Emily Conklin; Secretary, Sara Kelly;  Treasurer, Emma Evanchak; and Publicity Director, Meagan Medina.

Natl Dance Honor Society

Pictured above kneeling is Publicty Director Meagan Medina, President Abby Pattermann, and Secretary Sara Kelly. In the middle row, from left to right, is Chapter Sponsor Caroline Brackett, Treasurer Emma Evanchak, Kelsey Frary, Grace Lamanna, Natalie Lychowid, and Kendyll Brown. In the back row, from left to right, is Zaida Lindsay, Vice President Emily Conklin, Sophia LeFevre, Delaney Capucilli, and Camdyn McNeill