West Genesee Music Education Program Receives National Recognition–Again

2023 Best Communities Banner

The National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) Foundation has announced the results of its 24th annual “Best Communities for Music Education” (BCME) survey, which acknowledges schools and districts across the U.S. for their commitment and support of music education in schools.

This is the fifteenth consecutive year, eighteenth time overall, that West Genesee has been recognized for this honor.

In addition to weekly general music classes at the K-5 level, 100% of our 3rd and 4th graders all participate in chorus! Our instrumental program starts in 4th grade and includes instruction in both band and orchestral instruments. At 5th, 6th, 7th, and 8th grade, students have the opportunity to join band, chorus, or orchestra. At the high school level, there are a variety of curricular ensembles for students to choose from (Concert Choir, Chorale, Orchestra, Symphony, Concert Band, Symphonic Band, and Wind Ensemble) as well as Music Theory and AP Music Theory courses.

Additional extracurricular opportunities continued to exist in jazz bands, string ensembles, small ensembles, middle level select chorus, musical productions, Winterguard, Winter Drumline, and our State and National champion “Wildcat” Marching Band.

Now in its 24th year, the BCME program evaluates schools and districts based on funding, staffing of highly qualified teachers, commitment to standards, and access to music instruction. The NAMM Foundation evaluates participants on these factors. Designations are made to districts and schools that demonstrate an exceptionally high commitment and greater access to music education.

The complete list and additional information can be read at the NAMM Foundation website located at www.nammfoundation.org.

Thank you to the following music teachers responsible for this impressive program: Anthony Alvaro, Christine Astafan, Gregory Borsz, Leah Causer, Tracy Cheney, Marcia DeMartini, Kevin Dimmel, Tracy Emerson, Deanna Fitzpatrick, Gina Giufré, Martha Grener, Christy Knowlton, Erin McConnell, William Mercer, Margret Mercer, Colin Reardon, Nick Rizzo, Andrea Scerbo, Donald Schuessler, and Michael Stachnik.

Director of Fine Arts Sarah Gentile noted, “This national award would not be possible without the collaborative efforts of our supportive administration, Board of Education, overall community, and outstanding music educators. I am so proud to serve our dedicated staff and hard-working student musicians!”